Quickie Quinoa Stir Fry

I have been SO busy lately it’s crazy. Two weeks ago I was just your average natural foodie, dreaming of the day when I would start blogging about my recipes and get my plant-based career moving. I was taking so many pictures of food but not really doing anything with them. Fast forward to two weeks later…

Now I am working every day of the week, blogging, demo-ing locally made quinoa snack crisps, cleaning pulp off the ceiling, recipe creating at 6 am, making enough onion bread to always be smelling like onion bread, have a website in the works, and in my spare time shopping for industrial juicers and glass straws online and designing my business card. I am loving life right now, but with everything going on I can barely find time to make food for myself – sounds extremely ironic I know. One can only survive off smoothies and kale chips for so long (actually one can survive off of smoothies and kale chips nutritionally, but I love my variety and foods with texture).

So one night after an all-day juice grind, my body was craving a solid meal. It wanted protein, it wanted fiber, it wanted colour, and it wanted it NOW! I needed something quick and satisfying. There is nothing quicker and more satisfying than a stir fry. Stir frys are great because you never really need to follow a recipe. You can throw the kitchen sink in there and it will always taste delicious and nutritious. There are 3 components you need for the perfect stir fry:

1) Veggies – throw in whatever veggies you have in the fridge; roots, greens, night shades, whatever

2) Grains – quinoa is super easy and super fast to make. 12 minutes and you are done! It’s also a complete protein and high in fiber.

3) Protein – organic sprouted tofu is non-GMO, easy to digest and a good source of calcium.

It’s that simple. No recipe required, just plants. And soooo good. That’s what you call staying flexi.

Quickie Quinoa Stir Fry

1 cup cooked quinoa

1/2 package organic sprouted tofu, cut into chunks

2+ cups fresh veggies, chopped (I used onion, broccoli, red pepper, spinach, and kale)

1 clove garlic

2 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp tamari

1 tbsp sesame oil

cayenne pepper to taste

Directions:

– mix one cup quinoa and 1.5 cups water in a pot. Bring to a boil, then simmer for 12-15 minutes.

– while quinoa is cooking, heat a pan over medium heat. Add oil, garlic, and onion (if using) and sautee for 2 minutes

– add rest of the chopped veggies and cook for 8-10 minutes, until veggies are tender. Add greens last

– stir in the cooked quinoa, tamari, and sesame oil.

– serve and enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Quickie Quinoa Stir Fry

  1. I made this for dinner tonight substituting black beans for tofu – really delicious! I forgot how much I liked quinoa until I read this post. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

