Irish Coffee Flexi Style

I don’t know about all of you, but for me there is nothing more that I crave in the winter time than a hot cup of joe mid afternoon. There is just something so soothing about sitting by the fire at a winter cabin, or even at home on a Sunday afternoon with a good book, with a steaming mug of something warm and frothy. Especially with these new Nespresso machines that all of my friends seem to have, I just can’t seem to resist my afternoon treat. It’s always nice to take a few minutes to recollect your thoughts for the last half of the day – just you and your mug of something good. What’s even better, on those special occasions like Christmas brunch, or a Sunday afternoon with a good book…is making a sweet, creamy Irish Coffee. But since going flexi and learning that an Irish Coffee has over 200 calories in it (half of those from fat) and is made of acid forming coffee, whiskey, and brown sugar and topped with a dollop of constipating whipped cream I now realize that I need a new drink of choice. Or do I…

Now I could always drink herbal tea every afternoon for the rest of my life, but I am a woman of indulgence! There is nothing that I can’t turn flexi. Nothing I tell you! I used a coffee substitute called Dandy Blend and added lacuma powder and maca, which both have caramel flavours and loads of health benefits. Lacuma powder is low on the glycemic index and is a great source of minerals, and maca is a powerful adaptogen (helps you adapt) and balances hormones. Add a touch of coconut syrup for sweetness and a dash of irish moss to make it Irish, and you’ve got yourself an Irish Coffee!

So here you have it folks, my take on an Irish Coffee. Enjoy your own this afternoon – I know I will.

Irish Coffee

1 cup hot water

2 tsp dandy blend

2 tsp lacuma powder

2 tsp hemp seeds

1 tsp maca

1 tsp coconut syrup

1/2 tbsp Irish Moss

1/4 nut milk

dash of cinnamon

Directions

– put everything except for nut milk in a blender and mix well.

– steam/froth the nut milk with a milk frother if you have one. Otherwise, just add to mixture.

– pour mixture into a mug, and dollop with frothy milk.

– enjoy 🙂

One thought on “Irish Coffee Flexi Style

  1. Gorgeous! Well done – one of my biggest challenges is that I work in the coffee business…avoiding dairy is a bit tough, and I do a pretty great job most of the time! Did I see you live in Ottawa? You can buy our beans from a few places there if so, we are a boutique roaster here in Vancouver. Love love posts about coffee! Good work 😉

Leave a Reply

