Drinking the Kool Aid

So here we go…

If you know me, then you know that I have been talking about starting a healthy food blog for quite some time. I’ve always been into having an online personality (probably because I am too shy in person and there are so many things that I just have to say), I’m  always changing my rich, indulgent cravings into healthier alternatives, and I always take pictures of my meals before I eat them. Yep I’m one of “those” people.

So I’m starting this blog to show everyone that plant-based diets are cool. There’s no need to start a vegan diet tomorrow, cold-tofurkey. I for sure did not do that. All you have to do is add more whole foods and plants to your diet, and cut out the fatty, constipating (I’ll be talking about this lots) animal products and processed sugars. It gets easier the more you do it, and I’m here to help. Just remember: cucumbers are cool, not coca cola.

It’s taken me some time to grow into the person I am today when it comes to food and lifestyle. I’ve had my fair share of chicken wings and drinking games, but with every experience you learn what your body likes and doesn’t like. Call me Grandma Lex, but now I’d much prefer to spend a Friday night with my dehydrator and a movie. Homemade banana chips are my new Banana Jacks.

So now that putting spinach in your smoothie is the cool thing to do, I finally have the balls to get this thing started. And in the spirit of having balls…here is my first recipe:

Spicy Balls

1 cup pecans

1 cup dates

1/4 cup raisins

2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp freshly grated nutmeg

1 tsp ginger

1 tsp pumpkin pie spice

1/2 tsp cloves

Directions:

– Put everything in a food processor and process until the mixture sticks together (test it out by squeezing some n your hands).

– Roll mixture into bite size balls, and refrigerate for half an hour.

* I find that these balls always taste better the next day after all the spices have had some time to make friends with each other.

Leave a Reply

